Bookish Thoughts
Leave a Comment

Weekly Wrap-Up 04/15/2016 (Bookfest Edition)

Catch up on what I purchased, what I’ve read, and what’s coming soon…

Upcoming: 

With such a busy last couple of weeks, I will be spending some time just relaxing and reading over the weekend. I am not even looking for anything to do.

The LA Times Festival of Books was amazing and intense, and I need another week to really reflect on my experience. I look lots of pictures, met some great writer, and really enjoyed myself. Wednesday’s post will have all the details.

Incoming:

I ordered two books from Amazon not knowing they were not written by black authors.

Poems for the Smart, Spunky, and Sensational Black Girl by Rachel Garlinghouse

The Princess and the Pony by Kate Beaton

The misunderstanding was really the subject matter: black girls. And from that perspective, it’s not a problem at all. Through adoptions and mixed raced marriages, multicultural stories are popping up more and more. As a mother of my mixed-race, black daughters, positive representation matters as much for them as it does for me.

Purchased at the Los Angeles Times Festival of Books

Poetic Situation by Noel Joes

Suburban Werewolf by S.L.Ladd

Hey Boy! Hey George! : The Pullman Porter by Johnnie F. Kirvin

Determined to Live by Lynette R. Goode

Booked by Kwame Alexander

Currently Reading:

I put all these books on hold ALL WEEK to check out some of my new books. I REGRET NOTHING. (Well, I’m so into The Parable of the Sower that I read a few pages of that this week.)

Sister Citizen |A Mighty Long WalkThe Parable of the Sower

Finished:

Poetic Situation by Noel Joes

Suburban Werewolf by S.L.Ladd

Poems for the Smart, Spunky, and Sensational Black Girl by Rachel Garlinghouse

The Princess and the Pony by Kate Beaton

 

*Weekly Wrap-Up is my Friday post, and summarizes my bookish week. This is where you can find a rundown of the books I acquired and what books I finished.*

Leave a comment