Bookish Thoughts
Comment 1

Welcome to Black and Bookish

Every book I’ve ever read has made some connection to me, even on a superficial level.

As I have gotten older, what I thought to be similarities between me and some of my favorite books, are connections through shared stories. This is not to say all women, or black women, or black people, or moms, or people over thirty, etc… are monolithic at all. What it says is that stories are powerful, and I want to share my story with you, through the books that have moved me.

Since books are not written or read in a vacuum, appreciation happens when you understand the context to past experiences and social norms. I believe books come into our lives at just the right moment, filling a need we were not even aware we had. I buy more books than I can consume, and even though a title may sit on my shelf, unread (sometimes for years), I know that when I finally do, it will be at just the right time. I don’t believe you can read a book at the wrong time.

I started this site to highlight a lack of awareness of black literature.

Black and Bookish is my personal blog site and is my exploration into black culture through books and other art mediums. Although there is an abundance of books and media created by people of color, especially here in the United States, these creative outlets are less recognized. The theme of adversity over oppression feels to be the most common, and it comes in many different forms. Over the past year, there has been a resurgent of outward black pride, and focus on the love of one’s self, especially in children’s literature. I feel that pride in my home, and in my community; however, I do not see it reflected back in my local bookstores, movie theaters, or art galleries.

So I created a space to share that pride with you.

  • Not your typical reviews. Like everyone else, I love to get lost in a good book. But you won’t find any “stars” on this site. That’s because Black and Bookish is less about best sellers and more about how I connect to these stories.
  • Why focus on women? Why not? Really, it’s because black women have failed so many ways by society and media. If anyone needs a new narrative, I believe it would be the black woman.
  • Top Ten for the Weekend. These are my Friday posts to summarize my bookish week. This is where you can find a rundown of the books I acquired and what books I finished. Sometimes, I’ll also include articles of interest.
  • What Exactly Is Living Bookishly? These are non-review, opinion posts. Of course, books will always come into play, but in a broader sense.
  • #SipandRead Photo Series. I drink coffee in the morning. I drink wine in the evening. Inspired and featured on Instagram.
  • Independent Authors. Even the little guys have stories to tell. I hold a special place in my heart for local and independent writers.

These categories might change.

There is no doubt that they will. I am constantly looking to update and improve my thoughts, so don’t be surprised when new categories show up and old ones are phased out. Don’t let this alarm you since I am always looking for ways to make this space work best for you and for me. Overall, I hope you find solidarity and comfort here. I am looking for clarity. Maybe you’ll find some too.

 

This entry was posted in: Bookish Thoughts

by

I am an educator, lover of all things information, and a frequent user of parallel construction. I live in Los Angeles with my husband and two children. I have a Masters in Teaching, a Bachelor degree in Humanities and one in Philosophy, and I'm the Assistant Director for a local nonprofit. Together we can explore Blackness in America, one book at a time. I can't wait to connect with you.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

